History

For the past 150 years, Corby Spirit and Wine Limited has been at the forefront of the spirits and wine industry in Canada, building a portfolio of Canadian favourites and iconic international brands. Through it all, the company has evolved through constant innovation, while staying true to its Canadian roots. The history of Corby Spirit and Wine Limited begins in the early Ontario frontier when whisky was as much a part of daily life as bread and meat…

Our founder, Henry Corby, immigrates from the UK to Canada at age 26 and sets up a small food shop and bakery in Belleville, Ontario.

In 1837, Henry Corby sells his bakery and buys a St. Lawrence steamer where he gets involved in buying grain. Henry Corby becomes interested in the distilling process and he quickly starts making his own brand of whisky for local consumption as a sideline to the main milling operation. By 1859, the distillery operation is incorporated and equally important to Henry as the mill operations.

In 1881, Henry’s son, Henry Corby II, takes over the business. Under his direction, the Company begins to evolve. They bottle their own brand of whisky and sell it under the name of Corby. The quality whisky becomes more and more popular and new markets open. The Company also begins to diversify by importing Scotch whisky and wines.

Early in the decade, Corby established an office in Montréal. In October 1912, Henry Corby II is appointed to the Canadian Senate. War changes the business, and the distillery suspends normal operations to dedicate itself to the war effort, producing alcohol for munitions.

After the war ends, H. Corby Distillery is sold to the Canadian Industrial Alcohol Company Limited. This new organization purchases the assets of JP Wiser’s Distillery Limited of Prescott, Ontario, and moves its operations to Corbyville, Ontario.

Hiram Walker – Gooderham & Worts Ltd. acquires 51% of equity in Corby Distillery Limited. But, World War II forces the distillery once again to suspend normal operations in favour of producing alcohol for munitions.

While in Europe during World War II, Canadian troops had acquired new tastes for imported spirits and wines and in 1952, Corby signs a joint venture agreement with the United Rum Merchants of London, England, bringing the renowned Lamb’s family of rums to the Corbyville distillery site.

The Company changes its name to Corby Distilleries Limited – Les Distilleries Corby Limitée and is listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.

Corby purchases Meagher’s Distillery Limited of Montréal and its subsidiary, the William Mara Company of Toronto. This acquisition expands the Company’s presence in the domestic liqueur market and, through William Mara, brings representation of international brands such as Beefeater gin, along with an enhanced wine portfolio.

Allied Lyons PLC successfully acquires 51% of Hiram Walker – Gooderham & Worts Ltd. shares, thereby becoming Corby’s majority shareholder.

Corby purchases the assets of McGuinness Distilling Co. Ltd. and acquires new brands such as Polar Ice vodka and the McGuinness range of mixable liqueurs.

The Corbyville distillery closes after 132 years and all maturing whisky inventory is transferred to the Hiram Walker facility in Windsor, Ontario.

The new millennium marked the beginning of a new era of growth and innovation for Corby. In 2005, Pernod Ricard S.A. becomes Corby’s majority shareholder. They both enter into long-term representation and production agreements, adding international market-leading brands such as Chivas Regal, The Glenlivet Scotch Whiskies and Jacob’s Creek wines. Corby also acquires the international rights to Lamb’s rum.

Corby adds the global powerhouse vodka brand ABSOLUT to its representation portfolio through an agreement with Pernod Ricard.

In November, Corby announces a new brand identity and changes its name to Corby Spirit and Wine Limited.

Corby acquires the spirits assets of Domaines Pinnacle Inc., comprised of the unique Ungava® Premium Canadian gin brand, Chic Choc® spiced rum, and a range of maple-based liqueurs including Coureur des Bois® and Cabot Trail®, as well as related production assets and inventory; operating as a new Corby subsidiary, Ungava Spirits Co. Ltd.

Corby acquires The Foreign Affair Winery, a Niagara, Ontario-based VQA wine producer.

Histoire

Depuis plus de 150 ans, la société Corby est à l’avant-garde de l’industrie des vins et des spiritueux au Canada, ayant su constituer un portefeuille de marques canadiennes populaires et de marques internationales de grand renom.

Inlassablement, l’entreprise a su progresser en innovant, tout en respectant ses racines profondément canadiennes.
L’histoire de Corby commence en Ontario, à l’époque des pionniers, alors que le whisky faisait partie de la vie quotidienne au même titre que la viande ou le pain…

Henry Corby, notre fondateur, émigre d’Angleterre à l’âge de 26 ans pour s’établir au Canada et fonder une petite boulangerie à Belleville, en Ontario

Henry Corby vend sa boulangerie en 1837 et fait construire un moulin où les fermiers viennent faire moudre leurs grains. Corby s’intéresse au procédé de la distillation et conserve une partie de ces grains pour en faire du whisky: il commence à faire son propre whisky destiné au marché local. Et dès 1859 il incorpore sa distillerie dont l’activité est maintenant aussi importante que celle de sa meunerie.

Le fils de Henry, Henry Corby II, prend les rênes de l’entreprise en 1881. Sous sa gouverne, la compagnie commencera à se transformer. Ils embouteillent leur whisky et le vendent sous le nom de Corby. Leur whisky de qualité est de plus en plus populaire et de nouveaux marchés s’ouvrent à eux. La compagnie amorce aussi à ce moment sa diversification, en important du whisky écossais et des vins.

Au début des années 1910, Corby ouvre un bureau à Montréal. Puis, en octobre 1912 Henry Corby II est nommé au Sénat canadien. Peu après, la guerre transforme les affaires et la distillerie interrompt ses activités usuelles pour se consacrer à l’effort de guerre en produisant de l’alcool destiné à la fabrication de munitions.

Après la guerre, la Distillerie H. Corby est vendue à la Canadian Industrial Alcohol Company Limited. Cette nouvelle entité met la main sur les actifs de la distillerie JP Wiser’s Limited de Prescott en Ontario et en relocalise les opérations à Corbyville, toujours en Ontario.

La firme Hiram Walker-Gooderham & Worts Ltd acquiert 51 % du capital de Corby Distillery Limited. Cependant, l’avènement de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale contraint la distillerie à interrompre à nouveau ses activités usuelles afin de produire de l’alcool destiné à la fabrication de munitions.

Alors qu’ils étaient déployés en Europe pendant la Seconde Guerre, les soldats canadiens avaient développé un goût pour les vins et spiritueux du vieux continent. Cela motiva Corby, en 1952, à signer une entente de partenariat avec la United Rum Merchants de Londres, en Angleterre. Dès lors, la distillerie de Corbyville produit la gamme de rhums réputés Lamb’s.

La compagnie adopte une nouvelle raison sociale, Corby Distilleries Limited – Les Distilleries Corby Limitée, et est inscrite à la bourse de Toronto.

Corby acquiert la Meagher’s Distillery Limited de Montréal ainsi que sa filiale, la William Mara Company, de Toronto. Cette acquisition permet à la compagnie d’accroître sa présence sur le marché des liqueurs produites au pays et, grâce à William Mara, de devenir la représentante de grandes marques internationales, comme le gin Beefeater, ainsi que d’un plus large éventail de vins.

Grâce à l’acquisition de 51 % des actions de Hiram Walker – Gooderham & Worts Ltd, la compagnie anglaise Allied Lyons devient actionnaire majoritaire de Corby.

Corby achète les actifs de la McGuinness Distilling Co. Ltd. et acquiert ainsi de nouvelles marques comme la vodka Polar Ice et la gamme de liqueurs à cocktails McGuiness.

Après 132 années d’existence, la distillerie de Corbyville ferme ses portes et tout le whisky en cours de maturation est alors transféré aux installations de Hiram Walker à Windsor en Ontario.

Le nouveau millénaire marque pour Corby une nouvelle ère de croissance et d’innovation. Pernod Ricard devient l’actionnaire majoritaire de Corby en 2005. Une entente à long terme de production et de représentation étend la gamme pour inclure les marques internationales de pointe que sont Chivas Regal, les whiskys écossais The Glenlivet et les vins Jacob’s Creek. Corby acquiert aussi les droits internationaux pour le rhum Lamb’s.

Grâce à une entente avec Pernod Ricard, la marque de vodka ABSOLUT, acteur planétaire incontournable, s’ajoute au portefeuille des représentations de Corby.

Corby fait l’annonce en novembre de sa nouvelle identité et devient Corby Spiritueux et vins Limitée.

Corby acquière la division des spiritueux de Domaine Pinnacle, qui inclut la marque de gin canadien d’exception Ungava® Premium, le rhum épicé Chic Choc®, toute une gamme de liqueurs à base de sirop d’érable, dont la Coureur des Bois® et la Cabot Trail® ainsi que leurs installations de production et leurs inventaires. La nouvelle filiale est nommée Les Spiritueux Ungava Cie. Ltée.

Corby acquiert The Foreign Affairs Winery, producteur de vins d’appellation d’origine VQA, établie à Niagara en Ontario.